Possibility of an Upcoming Blender Animation

I’m trying to make a short animation using blender. I’ve been fiddling with Blender recently, which, if you don’t know, is free digital animation software. A few months ago I created this:

I’ve found out that if you export an LDD file into a .ldr file, you can then open it with LeoCAD, which can then export it into a .obj file, which Blender can read. This allows me to get very detailed models of virtually any Lego part into Blender. I had, at the time I discovered this, already modeled some parts in Blender using dimensions I found online. I had just modeled basic things like a 1×1, 1×2, 1×3, 1×4, 2×2, 2×3, 2×4 bricks and plates. They looked perfect, because I had used exact dimensions. I am thinking I’ll make an animation based off of only lego parts, which could look sorta like the Lego Movie, only not as good. Here’s one frame I rendered of a light and puffy cloud.

A cloud made of lego bricks

A cloud made of lego bricks, floating in the air.

Doesn’t look so great yet because it was rendered with pretty low resolution and only 50 samples. I also turned off Caustics so that the light looked less grainy. Kind of a cheap solution to the problem. As it is, it still took more than a minute to render. More to come.

Share your thoughts

